Texas Wage and Hour Laws

What is minimum wage?
Texas minimum wage is $7.25 per hour.

What is the minimum wage for tipped employees?
Texas tipped employees are covered under the FLSA tip laws, which mandate that tipped employees can be paid a minimum of $2.13 per hour from the employer as long as wages and tips add up to at least the federal minimum wage of $7.25 an hour. If it does not, an employer must make up the difference in cash.

When am I eligible to earn overtime?
Federal overtime laws apply in Texas, which mandate that non-exempt employees must be paid a premium of 1.5 times their regular rate of pay if they work more than 40 hours in a workweek.

Am I entitled to a lunch or rest break?
Texas does not require breaks. However, most employers do offer them for employees. The federal laws mandate that breaks of 20 minutes or less must be paid. Breaks over 30 minutes do not need to be paid, as long as the employee is fully relieved of duties during the meal break. If an  employee is answering phones, or eating at their desk working, the break is counted as regular work time and must be paid.